Christmas day 2015: a waterfall, a beach, a Full Moon, but no yorkshire puddings in sight!

So, after Wonderfruit and a little trip back to Bangkok, it was over to the island of Koh Samui for 5 days over Christmas!

Lets get it out there… the hostel wasn’t the best in terms of: Christmas eve I saw the biggest cockroach I’ve ever seen, the water was very intermittent, but it didn’t bother us too much, they managed to get us all in one room by building an extra bunkbed, and the staff were really social and helpful. They took us out for a night out the day we got there and were on hand with suggestions of things we could do and advice for the full moon party. So would I stay there again if i went back? Yeah why not…

Since my shoes had been taken the week before at the festival, top of the agenda was to find a worthy replacement, and boy did I!

Snapchat-419744202518590581

Unfortunately they didn’t have my size, so I had to settle for a pair 4 sizes too small… but trust me I’m an Engineer.. so I set about pimping my wellies:

The results…

Snapchat-6661416954705391578
Size is no longer an issue!

Not the most practical… but jazzzzzzzyy!

Christmas day:

Before getting to Thailand we had all decided to do a secret santa and pick names out of a hat I had Adam and had managed to get him a cool vest in Pattaya before the festival, and a lovely little bag and as it turned out Hannah(bintan) had me. On Christmas morning I unwrapped some wavy garms, a pet Kitty (which looks like me?!) and a creepy Santa mask, what more could I want?!

 

Snapchat-4106211182227047621

Being the responsible adult that I am, Emily put her life in my hands as I took us cruising on the scooters. Our first trip was over to the waterfall named waterfall 2…not quite sure how they came up with that name. First though,  we went over to the beach and had a quick swim in the sea.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


After that it was over to the waterfall which was pretty cool and we all had a splash around. Our christmas dinner was pad thai from the street vendor opposite the hostel, not quite my usual christmas meal….

The full moon party itself was in 3 words: busy, clubby and fun.

A beach party with several thousand people sounds a bit mad, sure there were people too drunk, sure there was drug use and yep there was probably some violence and some crime going on… But really it wasn’t as bad as the reputation it had. Sadly half the group got split off early on and we didn’t managed to find them again… Later in the night we managed to find Anni and co, by chance when I caught ear (is that a saying) of some actual good music, and rushed over to see them there skanking away. Had some great experiences that night and really enjoyed being with friends and by the beach, definitely a memorable christmas! Worst part of all was the speedboat ride back at 6 in the morning! not fun.

Didn’t manage to take any worthwhile photos at the party, but heres one of the morning after:

Snapchat-2666790552359519493
Keeping it festive!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The rest of the time was pretty chilled… we got mopeds again, and aside from a drama of rolling down a hill too fast for the brakes to stop us it went fairly smoothly, while waiting for Hannah to get herself some replacement glasses I went and got some real replacement shoes! “Oh no, but what about the pimped wellies” I hear you all asking… well sadly, even an engineer couldn’t make shoes 4 sizes too small comfortable enough for the next 2 weeks of travelling…

I left Koh Samui 2 days after the full moon party, catching a few Muay Thai fights with Roofies and the hostel owner Loren, some time in between, and went to Pattaya to catch my flight back to Singapore, where new years and family awaited! After the parties of Koh Samui I was chose to stay in Phuket town, not the livelier touristic Patong. I only had just over a day, it was pleasant, I met a girl from South Africa whilst walking around town and we decided to take a little tour of the area together! That night I went for drinks with the Aussies staying in my dorm, with entertainment for the evening provided by a guy called Cooper with as many “stories” as Jay from the Inbetweeners.

I know its been an quite a while since my last post… laptop issues and a trip to the Philippines got in the way a little, I’m determined to catch up again over the next few weeks, but the workload is really building up too…. (only 5 weeks left before the semester ends!)

Until next time,

Isaac

Leave a comment