So….. I made it!

So after the relatively uneventful 20 hour flight I touched down in Singapore on Saturday afternoon and checked into my accommodation… The last few days since have been pretty busy, meeting lots of people and trying to fit in a lot of things before lectures start next Tuesday!

I woke up at 1pm today and have been in my room watching the rainstorm through my bedroom window, so far I’ve met 2 of my housemates Malthe aka Tupac, a business student from Denmark, and Phillipe, aka Big P who’s a law student from Canada! My sleeping pattern is definitely pretty ruined, I don’t think it’s entirely the jet lag, rather it’s a result of extended skype calls and last night…. My first night out in Singapore! (Think I may have to make a blog post dedicated to the Singapore nightlife once I’ve been here a little longer!)

Yesterday I got the chance to do a little exploring around Chinatown, with a look around the Buddah Tooth Relic Temple (pictures above) It was an impressive temple with hundreds of Buddah’s on the walls all decorated individually. This weekend should be an eventful one with Singapore celebrating 50 years of independance, Sunday night is set to be quite spectacular with a huge firework display at Marina Bay Sands!!

Very grateful for my friend Josh and his family for inviting me round for a lovely dinner on Monday night, it made settling in just that little bit easier! Anyway, the storm seems to have settled now so I’m off to explore the Engineering buildings and have a look around!

Until next time,

Isaac

4 thoughts on “So….. I made it!

  1. Welcome to Singapore, and welcome to NUS! I’m an NUS student who’s going over to Leeds for exchange too haha albeit for just 1 semester. Hope you’ll enjoy your time in SG!

    Like

  2. That’s brilliant well thanks for your welcome, I hope the people you come across in Leeds are as nice as those I have met in Singapore! Best of luck with your time in Leeds, I’m sure you will love it! Any tips for NUS?

    Like

    1. Just enjoy your time there! Also Singapore may be small but there are still many places to visit! As for NUS, feel free to join the clubs and sports we have to offer! HAVE FUN~

      Like

Leave a comment